Team India lost in the final played for 6 days, Virat Kohli lost the second ICC trophy


New Delhi. Virat Kohli missed out on winning the ICC trophy as captain exactly a year ago i.e. on 23 June 2021. In the final of the debut season of the World Test Championship (WTC Final), New Zealand defeated Team India by 8 wickets. This match was played for 6 days due to rain. An extra day was kept for this by the ICC. Earlier, under the captaincy of Kohli, the Indian team also lost in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2017. He could not win the ICC trophy as a captain. Due to this many times questions were raised on his captaincy. Former Indian coach Ravi Shastri also described the defeat in the final of the World Test Championship as the biggest pain.

In this match played in Southampton, the game could not be played due to rain on the first day. New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and decided to bowl. Team India’s score was 149 runs for 3 wickets at one time in the first innings. After this the entire team was reduced to 217 runs. Virat Kohli scored 44 and Ajinkya Rahane scored 49 runs. Rohit Sharma contributed 34 runs. 5 batsmen could not touch the double figures. Fast bowler Kyle Jameson took 5 wickets for 31 runs. This also proved to be the turning point of the match.

New Zealand got a lead of 32 runs

In reply, New Zealand scored 249 runs in the first innings and took a lead of 32 runs. Devon Conway scored 54 runs. Apart from this, Kane Williamson also contributed 49 runs. In the end, Tim Southee scored 30 runs to bring the score close to 250. For India, Mohammed Shami took 4 and Ishant Sharma took 3 wickets. In response, the beginning of the second innings of Team India was very lame. The team had lost 4 big wickets for 72 runs.

Jameson overshadows Kohli

Kaine Jameson dismissed Virat Kohli for the second consecutive innings. He could only score 13 runs. Rishabh Pant scored 41 and Rohit Sharma scored 30 runs. No other Indian could touch the 20-run mark. The entire team was reduced to 170 runs in 73 overs. Tim Southee took 4, Trent Boult took 3 and Kyle Jameson took 2 wickets. In this way, New Zealand got a target of 139 runs to win the final.

Wriddhiman Saha was forced to mess with the Bengal Board, not ready to be included in the other state team!

ENG vs NED: Jason Roy and Butler again played a brilliant innings, England won the match with 20 overs remaining

In reply, Kiwi team lost 2 wickets for 44 runs. Tom Latham 9 and Devon Conway fell victim to off-spinner R Ashwin by scoring 19 runs. After that it seemed that the match would be exciting. But captain Kane Williamson scored an unbeaten 52 and Ross Taylor scored an unbeaten 47 and gave the trophy to the Kiwi team. Both shared an unbeaten partnership of 96 runs. Two years ago, in the final of the ODI World Cup in 2019, New Zealand lost to England by the boundary count rule. In such a situation, this victory was very big for him. Kyle Jameson was adjudged player of the match.

Tags: India vs new zealand, On This Day, Team India, Virat Kohli, world test championship, WTC Final


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here