Ranji Trophy Final: Somebody became captain for the first time then some opener, know the story of 5 players who made Madhya Pradesh a champion


New Delhi. The cricket team of Madhya Pradesh has become the champion for the first time in the history of 88 years of Ranji Trophy. He defeated 41-time champion Mumbai in the final played in Bangalore. Earlier, the team of Madhya Pradesh reached the final of Ranji Trophy 23 years ago. Then this title slipped from the hands of Madhya Pradesh in the last session game at the same Chinnaswamy Stadium, at that time Chandrakant Pandit was the captain of the team. Now he is the coach of Madhya Pradesh team and the dream that he could not fulfill as a captain was fulfilled as a coach.

That too, when many experienced players of the team did not stay together in this season. Due to the selection of Avesh Khan and Venkatesh Iyer in the Indian team, Madhya Pradesh could not get their services in the Ranji Trophy. Apart from this, Ishwar Pandey and Kuldeep Sen are also not available due to injuries. Even in the absence of these star players, under the supervision of coach Pandit, young players made MP the champion.

The biggest reason for Madhya Pradesh becoming the champion has been the emergence of different players as match winners. At least 5 players contributed significantly to the team’s victory on different occasions in this season. That’s why the dream of becoming the champion of Madhya Pradesh came true. Let us tell you one by one about these 5 players who made MP the champion.

Rajat Patidar: Rajat Patidar, who scored a record century for Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2022, batted well for Madhya Pradesh in this season of Ranji Trophy. He made an important contribution to making the team champion by scoring a century against Mumbai in the final. Patidar batted fast in the final and completed his century in just 163 balls. With the help of his innings, the team of Madhya Pradesh was able to get a big lead over Mumbai in the first innings. This was Silver’s second century in this season of Ranji Trophy. He finished second in the list of highest run scorers this season. He scored more than 600 runs in 6 matches at an average of 79.

Kumar Karthikeya: This year proved to be a milestone in the cricket career of this left-arm spinner. First he got a chance to play IPL and secondly his team Madhya Pradesh became the champion of Ranji Trophy for the first time. However, the journey till here has not been easy for them. To become a cricketer, Karthikeya worked in a tire factory and changed two states.

This player, who made his debut in first-class cricket 4 years ago, played an important role in making Madhya Pradesh a champion. He took 8 wickets in the semi-finals to take MP to the final and then in the second innings of the final, 4 Mumbai batsmen showed the way to the pavilion, preparing the foundation for becoming the champion of Madhya Pradesh. He was the second highest wicket taker in this season. He took 32 wickets in 6 matches. He did the feat of taking five wickets three times.

Aditya Srivastava: After becoming the coach of Chandrakant Pandit, there were many changes in the team of Madhya Pradesh. One of them was to change the captain of the team. Aditya Srivastava was made the captain of the team for this season of Ranji Trophy. Madhya Pradesh’s Ranji cricket team got a captain from Bhopal after 16 years. He hasn’t had much time playing domestic cricket. But, nevertheless, coach Pandit entrusted him with the responsibility of captaincy and this right-handed batsman lived up to this criterion.

Aditya did not score many runs in this season. But, played many important innings. He scored 82 against Bengal in the semi-final. Thanks to this innings of his, the team of Madhya Pradesh was successful in defeating Bengal and reached the final after 23 years and also won the first title.

Himanshu Minister: This wicket-keeper batsman made his first-class debut for Madhya Pradesh only 3 years ago. But, in such a short time he established himself as a batsman. In this season of Ranji Trophy, the minister scored more than 300 runs in 4 matches at an average of 67. During this he scored a century and a half-century. His century came in the semi-final against Bengal. He had scored 165 runs while opening the innings against Bengal. Due to his innings, the team of Madhya Pradesh was successful in reaching the final. Earlier, he had also scored 89 runs in the quarterfinal against Punjab.

Yash Dubey: After Rajat Patidar, Yash Dubey has scored the most runs for Madhya Pradesh. He is the fourth highest run-scorer in this season of Ranji Trophy. It has been only 4 years for Yash playing first class cricket. But, despite this, he batted very seriously this season.

Like Rajat, he scored a century in the final against Mumbai. He usually bats in the lower order. But, coach Chandrakant Pandit decided to open him in the middle of the season. Yash also lived up to this and he started the innings with a brilliant innings of 289 runs against Kerala. However, after this his bat did not play in the knockout matches against Punjab and Bengal. But, scoring a century against Mumbai in the final played an important role in making Madhya Pradesh the champion.

Tags: Madhya pradesh news, Mumbai, Ranji Trophy


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here