Madhya Pradesh may have become Ranji champion for the first time, first central India dominated, from CK Naidu to Aditya Srivastava


New Delhi. The team of MP has won the Ranji Trophy title for the first time. In the final played in Bangalore, the team defeated the 41-time champion team Mumbai by 6 wickets on Sunday. The captain was Aditya Srivastava. But very few people will know that before MP, Holkar’s team has won the Ranji Trophy title 4 times. That is, Central India dominated in Ranji and CK Nayudu made the team champion 4 times as captain. The two teams merged in 1954–55. It got its name from Central India. After becoming MP after 2 years, its name became MP. The team of MP reached the finals of the First Class tournament after 1998-99. Let us take a look at the history of the team:

The Ranji Trophy matches started from 1934-35. Raja Yashwantrao Holkar II formed Holkar’s team and it first entered the Ranji Trophy tournament in 1941. Legendary players like CK Nayudu and Mushtaq Ali played for the team. The team also won the tournament title 4 times in 1945-46, 1947-48, 1950-51 and 1952-53. The team was the runner up for 6 times. On the other hand, the team of MP is coming into the Ranji Trophy from 1950-51.

beat Baroda by 56 runs

In the final of 1945-46, Holkar’s team came under the leadership of CK Naidu and defeated Baroda by 56 runs in the final. Holkar’s team scored 342 runs in the first innings on the basis of CK Naidu’s 200. In reply, Baroda’s team could only score 198 runs. There were veteran players like Hemu Adhikari and Vijay Hazare in this team. Hazare remained unbeaten on 87. In the second innings, Holkar’s team was reduced to 273 runs. CK Naidu scored 50 runs. Chasing the target of 418 runs, Baroda’s team could only score 361 runs. Vijay Hazare once again scored 64 runs.

Beating Bombay and Gujarat, Naidu hat-trick

In the final of 1947-48, Holkar defeated Bombay by 9 wickets. Only 191 runs could be scored in Bombay’s first innings. In reply, Holkar scored 361 runs with the help of CS Naidu’s 96 and Mushtaq Ali’s 52. Captain CK Naidu scored 26 runs. In reply, Bombay’s team could only score 261 runs in the second innings. The team achieved the target of 92 runs on one wicket. Mushtaq Ali remained unbeaten on 44. In the 1950–51 final, Holkar defeated Gujarat by 189 runs and CK Nayudu scored a hat-trick of the trophy as captain.

Chandu Sarwate’s double century

Playing first against Gujarat, Holkar scored 429 runs. Mushtaq Ali played a big innings of 187 runs. In reply, Gujarat’s team got out after scoring 327 runs. Holkar scored 443 runs in the second innings. Chandu Sarwate played an excellent innings of 234 runs. In reply, Gujarat’s team could only score 356 runs in the second innings. Jasubhai Patel, who came out to bat at number 11, scored 152 runs. But they could not make the team win.

Madhya Pradesh vs Mumbai Final: Kumar Karthikeya’s ‘four’, Mumbai set a target of 108 runs in front of Madhya Pradesh

In the Ranji final of 1952–53, under the captaincy of CK Nayudu, Holkar’s team became champions on the basis of first innings lead against Bengal. Bengal had scored 479 runs in the first innings. In response, Holkar scored 496 runs in the first innings on the basis of BB Nimbalkar’s 219. Bengal declared after scoring 320 for 5 in the second innings. In response, Holkar’s team scored 177 for 9 in the second innings till the end of the game. He had got a target of 304 runs. CK Naidu scored 11825 runs in 207 first class matches at an average of 36. He scored 26 centuries and 58 half-centuries. He played 7 Tests for India and scored 350 runs with the help of 2 half-centuries. Played the biggest innings of 81 runs.

Tags: BCCI, Mumbai, Prithvi Shaw, Ranji Trophy


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here