India Cricket Match: India got 5 crushing defeats in ODIs, biggest sorrow in 2007 World Cup


New Delhi. Leaving behind the bad tour of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, the Indian team has performed brilliantly in recent times. The Indian team drew the 5-match T20 series 2-2 with the African team on the home tour. After this, the Irish team led by Pandya has been defeated 2-0 at home. The team’s next match is with the English team, which is considered a strong team in the cricket world, from July 1. There is to be a Test between the two teams first. After this, T20 and ODI series of 3 matches will be played between the two teams respectively. The T20 series will be played from July 7 to July 10. After this the ODI series will start. The ODI series will be played from July 12 to July 17.

At present, the Indian team is considered a strong team in white ball cricket. The Indian team is currently ranked fourth in ODI cricket with 105 points and first in T20 cricket with 268 points. There have been many such occasions in ODI cricket]when the Blue Army has had to face defeat badly. In such a situation, before the ODI series against England, talk about the 5 biggest defeats of India in ODI cricket, so it is as follows.

Also read- …

Lost by 245 runs against Sri Lanka in 2000

In the year 2000, the final match of the Coca-Cola Champions Trophy was played between India and Sri Lanka. In this match, the Indian team had to face defeat badly by 245 runs. In fact, in this match, Sri Lankan captain Sanath Jayasuriya won the toss in Sharjah and decided to bat first. Batting first, Sri Lankan team managed to score 299 runs for the loss of five wickets in the allotted overs. For the team, captain Jayasuriya, while batting explosively, played an explosive century of 189 runs in 161 balls. During this, 21 fours and four excellent sixes came from his bat.

At the same time, chasing the target of 300 runs given by Sri Lanka, the Indian team was bundled out for just 54 runs in 26.3 overs. In this match for the team, only Robin Singh (11) could touch the double figure. Apart from Singh, captain Sourav Ganguly 3 in 13 balls, Sachin Tendulkar 5 in 11 balls, Yuvraj Singh 3 in 6 balls, Vinod Kambli 3 in 15 balls, Hemang Badani 9 in 17 balls, Vijay Dahiya 4 in 14 balls, Sunil Joshi 4 off 11 balls, Ajit Agarkar 2 in 10 balls, Zaheer Khan 1 in 14 balls and Venkatesh Prasad managed 3 runs in 10 balls.

In this match for the opposition team, Chaminda Vaas, bowling havoc, got the maximum 5 successes in his spell of 9.3 overs. Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Vinod Kambli and Zaheer Khan were included in the batsmen whom Vaas made his victim. Apart from Vaas, Muttiah Muralitharan got 3 and Nuwan Joysa got a breakthrough for the team.

Lost by 10 wickets against South Africa in 2005

India got the second biggest defeat in ODI cricket in the year 2005 against the African team at the Eden Gardens. The fourth match of the 5-match ODI series between India and Africa was played at the historic ground at the Eden Gardens. Batting first after losing the toss in this match, the Indian team was bundled out for 188 runs in 45.5 overs in front of the African team. For the team, only Yuvraj Singh (53) and Mohammad Kaif (46) could stand in front of the opposition bowlers for some time.

While chasing the target of 189 runs given by India, the African team easily achieved this target without any loss in 35.5 overs. Opening the innings for the team, Graeme Smith (134 not out) and Andrew Hall (48 not out) shared a record century partnership of 189 runs.

Australian team defeated by 10 wickets in the year 2020

India’s third biggest defeat in ODI cricket was against the Australian team in the year 2020. In this match, Kangaroo team also defeated India by 10 wickets. In this one-sided match, the Australian team won the toss and invited the Indian team to bat first. Accepting the invitation received by the opposition team, the Indian team managed to score 255 runs in 49.1 overs. The highest scorer for the team was opener Shikhar Dhawan. He played a fine half-century innings of 74 runs for the team. Apart from this, KL Rahul managed to score 47 runs at the third order.

On the other hand, the opposition team Australia easily achieved the target of 256 runs given by India in 37.4 overs without any loss. David Warner (128) and Captain Aaron Finch (110) opened the innings for the team and took the team to the target of victory.

Pakistan beat Pakistan by 180 runs in ICC Champions Trophy 2017

The final match of ICC Champions Trophy 2017 was played between India and Pakistan at The Oval. In this match, the Pakistan team defeated the Indian team by 180 runs and captured the title. Earlier, the Blue Army had defeated the Pakistan team in the opening match, but in the final match, the Green team returned and settled the account with India.

In the final match of ICC Champions Trophy 2017, Pakistan team had set a big target of 4 339 runs in front of India after losing the toss. For the team, Fakhar Jama started the innings and played the best century of 114 runs. Apart from this, Azhar Ali 59 off 71 balls, Babar Azam 46 off 52 balls, Shoaib Malik 12 off 16 balls, Mohammad Hafeez scored 57 not out in 37 balls and Imad Wasim scored 25 not out off 21 balls.

At the same time, chasing the target of 335 runs given by the Pak team, the Indian team was bundled out for 158 runs in 30.3 overs. For the team, Hardik Pandya definitely tried to win in the middle overs, but he also failed. He played an explosive fifties of 76 runs in 43 balls in this match for the team. During this, four fours and six excellent sixes came from his bat.

Bangladesh beat by five wickets in World Cup 2007

World Cup 2007 was a very disappointing tournament for the Indian team. In the eighth match of this tournament, the Indian team clashed with Bangladesh, the weakest team of the tournament. During this, the Bangladeshi team gave a big defeat to the Indian team by five wickets.

In this match, Indian captain Rahul Dravid won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting first, the team was all out for 191 runs in 49.3 overs. Opening the innings for the team, Sourav Ganguly played the highest half-century innings of 66 runs. Apart from this, Yuvraj contributed 47 runs in the middle order.

In this match, Mashrafe Mortaza got the maximum four successes for the opposition team. Apart from Mortaza, Abdur Razzaq and Mohammad Rafiq took three wickets each respectively. At the same time, the target of 192 runs given by India was easily achieved by the Bangladeshi team at the loss of 5 wickets with 9 balls to spare. Tamim Iqbal made 51 off 53 balls, Shahryar Nafees two in eight balls, Mushfiqur Rahim 56 not out in 107 balls, Aftab Ahmed eight in 10 balls, Shakib Al Hasan 53 in 86 balls, Captain Habibul Bashar eight Another off the ball, Mohammad Ashraful scored an unbeaten eight off 23 balls. In this match, Mortaza was adjudged ‘Player of the Match’ for his excellent bowling.

Tags: Indian cricket team, Team India


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here