England announces Test team against India, adds star wicket-keeper batsman to the team


New Delhi. England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) Has announced the 15-man squad for the one-off test match against India. Last year due to Kovid-19 against India and England, the last match of the five-Test series had to be postponed. The Indian team was ahead 2-1 in the series at that time. Now the deciding match of the series will be played from Friday (July 1). The host team has included wicket-keeper batsman Sam Billings in the team. Billings plays for Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL. At the same time, James Anderson, who did not play the third Test against New Zealand, has also been included in the team.

Sam Billings can play in place of Ben Foakes in the only Test match. Fox has recently been found to be Kovid 19 positive. At the same time, England’s star Test bowler James Anderson can make a record against India. Anderson is just one step away from taking 650 wickets in Test cricket. Only two bowlers have taken 650 or more wickets in Test cricket. Both Muttiah Muralitharan (800 wickets) and the late Shane Warne (708 wickets) have been spinners. Anderson will be the first fast bowler to achieve this feat in Test cricket.

Mayank Agarwal can open for India
Rohit Sharma was found corona positive during the practice match against Leicestershire. There is still doubt on his playing. Meanwhile, opener Mayank Agarwal has joined the team. Mayank can open in Rohit’s absence. The second opener will be Shubman Gill, who has played well in the practice match as well. India also has the option of Cheteshwar Pujara for the opening.

Jasprit Bumrah can get the command of Indian team
Jasprit Bumrah is at the fore in the race for captaincy in the first test match instead of Rohit Sharma. His edge is heavy on Rishabh Pant. Bumrah has taken over as India’s vice-captain in the T20-ODI series against Sri Lanka this year.

Rahul Dravid satisfied with Team India’s preparations for the Test match against England – Video

England Test Team: Ben Stokes (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Stuart Broad, Harry Brooke, Jack Crowley, Ben Fox, Jack Leach, Alex Lee, Craig Overton, Jamie Overton, Matthew Potts, Ollie Pope, Joe Root.

Indian Test Team: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj , Umesh Yadav, Famous Krishna and Mayank Agarwal.

Tags: ben stokes, India Vs England, James Anderson, Rohit Sharma


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here